DW Box #1

20 Jan

When thinking of subcultures I am a part of one particular comes to mind; the mock trial subculture. As a part of the mock trial subculture I have been judged and critiqued. Individuals involved in mock trial are often considered intelligent individuals who enjoy arguing. The mock trial subculture consists of those individuals on mock trial teams or involved in the mock trial process. I have been part of this subculture for around three years now. I began my venture in this subculture by participating for two years as a member of the JH Rose High School mock trial team. We would have practice for two hours a day, three times a week. This was a very time consuming extra-curricular activity. We would eventually compete in regional, state, and national competitions. Now that I attend East Carolina University I help to coach the mock trial team at my high school since I can no longer participate as a team member.

Some of our rituals would include our occasional meetings outside of our practice time to get to know one another better as individuals. These meetings would most often involve us going to dinner as a team. I found some of my most favorite memories to occur during these times. These less stressful situations allow us as a team to truly just hang out and have fun. Other rituals would include riding to and from competitions together and also staying in hotels together when competitions are too far to drive there and back within the same day. These rituals also allow us to truly bond as a team. A team that is well bonded often performs in competition much better than a team who is not well bonded.

As a part of the mock trial subculture we also have inside sayings. Most of these sayings include just simply inside jokes and most often law statements or sayings. Such as my mock trial team went to our state competition and got t-shirts that said “Character Evidence” on the back. To the average person it would be just another t-shirt. However, to myself and my teammates it was a t-shirt that would remind us of the case that we had to present at competitions where the law concept of “character evidence” was very relevant.

As far as subculture behaviors the mock trial team does not act any different than your average individuals. At times we may act more intelligent or more well rounded or even more crazy than the average person. However, in general we are just average people who greatly enjoy learning about being a part of the court systems process. Although, no matter what judgments the mock trial society gets I will always be thoroughly proud to be a part of such a wonderful subculture that helped me in so many ways

One Response to “DW Box #1”

  1. Stephanie West-Puckett February 25, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Wow, I know about a lot of JHR subcultures, but I’d never heard of this one. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

