Research Proposal MP #2

15 Feb

I will be researching the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, also known as the NAACP. Regaurding the NAACP subculture I know very little. The information I know is based on the national organization not our on capus student organization. My current knowledge of the organization is that they work to promote equal rights among all students with a focus on the equity of black students.

Currently I have no connection with this subculture. However, I am working to establish connections to get a better understanding of what the subculture is all about.

I feel that entering this subculture would not be very difficult. This group seems very open and excited to have others learn about them. However, difficulties may come later as I compile my information. I worry that I may either find too little information or too much information. As of right now I would be considered an outsider. I have no previous connection with this group and no current connection with this group.

My fieldsite for my first set of fieldnotes is at the NAACP’s Showtime at the Apollo. This event is taking place at Hendrix theater at 7:00pm on February 18, 2011.

I would like to learn about their subculture in the greatest about of detail possible. I want to emerge myself within this group and find out what this subculture is truly about. My main focus during my research is going to be the legislation that has been affected by the NAACP. I would like to focus on what the organization hopes to accomplish and what their main goals are.

One Response to “Research Proposal MP #2”

  1. alexanders10 February 15, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    All of your four sources from Joyner’s General Collections seem to be in the right format and it seems like those sources helped you. The proposal sounds good so far, but maybe instead of saying you want to learn a lot about the subculture you can say specifically what exact things you want to learn about the NAACP. Also, you could talk about some of the questions you’re planning on asking students from this subculture. It’s good that you already know the first event/fieldsite that you’re going to which makes you prepared. Now that we’ve done online research in the library, you can update your proposal and talk about the experience in relation to your project. You can talk about the new information you learned from the databases, as well as the problems and good things that arose from the online research.

Leave a Reply

