DW Box #8

21 Feb

When answering the three key questions: What suprised me? What intrigued me? What disturbed me? I found that I do not yet know as much information as I had thought I did. What suprised me about my subculture is their open environment and welcoming group members. During my first fieldsite visit at the Hendrix Theatre to watch their NAACP Night at the Apollo Talent Showcase everyone was very friendly and made the experience fun. What intrigues me about this subculture is their overall mission. I am hoping to learn more about their processes and their goals as a group. When addressing things that disturbed me I want to be completely honest. When going into my fieldsite I was extremely worried that because of my skin color I might be seen as an outsider or judged. However, this previous worries were proven false. I am excited to continue my fieldsite studies and learn more about this group. I believe they have a lot of information to share.

One Response to “DW Box #8”

  1. Stephanie West-Puckett February 25, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    I admire your honesty!

Leave a Reply

